In 1893 the university vineyard at Wagga Wagga was planted with grapes as part of the experimental farm established following the formation of the NSW Department of Agriculture in 1880. The wine science and viticulture teaching program was established at Wagga Wagga in 1976. The current winery model, Boutique Wines by CSU, produces premium small batch cool climate wines supporting local grape growers and the broader Australian wine industry and is an integral part of Australia’s leading wine science school at Charles Sturt University.